The categories given below identify whether an individual requires a visit visa before arrival or whether one can be issued at the airport or entry point.

AGCC Citizens - Citizens of the Arab Gulf Co-operation Council (Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, UAE) do not need a visa.

AGCC Residents - AGCC expatriate residents may obtain a non-renewable 180 days visa upon arrival. Residents must have at least months validity on their passport and residence visa.

UK Citizens - Residents of the UK with the right to abide in the United Kingdom may obtain a free visa on arrival, valid for 60 days from the date of entry.

Selected Countries - Citizens of the following 33 countries are given a visit visa upon arrival to the UAE. It is valid for 60 days from the date of entry: France, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Austria, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Portugal, Ireland, Greece, Finland, Malta, Spain, Monaco, Vatican, Iceland, Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein, United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong.

Should your passport come from a country not among the above four categories, there are three ways to get a visa to the UAE.

For a comprehensive guide to UAE visa regulations, see the Ministry of Information Web site.

Remember, visa regulations are subject to change, so you should check directly with the nearest UAE embassy to confirm details.